Pancakes for Alyx

20130416-172540.jpg

I just made the yummiest pancakes and want to share them! The only problem is that I didn’t exactly measure everything–just sort of threw it all together into my blender while I was talking to a good friend on the phone.

Which is another important discovery: things taste better when you make them in a good mood! My good friend just told me that she is pregnant with her second child after trying for only a short time, so it is very happy news. I want to name these pancakes after her, so they are hereby deemed “Alyx’s Pancakes.” I hope I can put together a recipe that replicates the yumminess that was spontaneously created in a moment of joy!

Alyx’s Pancakes

• About 3 heaping tablespoons of cultured coconut cream and about 1/4 cup of water

• 2 fresh eggs

• About 1 cup quinoa flour, preferably sprouted if you can find it or make it (to make these grain-free or “paleo,” use ground pumpkin or sunflower seeds, or simply double almond or other nut flour below)

• About 1 cup almond or other nut flour

• 1 banana or 1/3 cup applesauce (or cooked pumpkin or squash if omitting sugars)

• About 4 tablespoons ground flax seeds

• Melted coconut oil (or butter), about 1/3 cup

• a splash of vanilla extract

• Several drops of liquid stevia

• Shake in a teaspoon to a tablespoon of cinnamon

• Ground ginger, maybe 1 teaspoon

• Ground cardamom, maybe 1/2 teaspoon

• Allspice and ground cloves, shake some in

• About 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Obviously, you could add any spices to these that you want to. I always add a lot of cinnamon, some ginger, and cardamom, allspice, cloves and ground anise or fennel if I have them on hand. I love spices! And they not only increase the flavor profile (as in taste better), but they also increase the health benefits of any food. It’s a win/win.

So I just dumped everything into my blender and whizzed it up. If it’s too thick, add a little water, maybe a tablespoon at a time. If you like a sweeter taste, add some more stevia or honey, etc. If you are trying to avoid sugars, omit the banana and use squash or pumpkin instead if you have it, maybe 1/4 cup. Or use one more egg. As you can see, cooking is not a science for me, but a work in progress full of infinite variations and possibilities…

If it isn’t delicious every time, there’s always the next time. Not the most efficient way to live, but it keeps life interesting.

20130416-172440.jpg

Leave a Reply

