Snickerdoodle Molasses Cookies (grain free, egg free, sugar free, dairy free)

20131027-222127.jpg

I was inspired to try my hand at some snickerdoodle-type cookies after reading the recipe on Elana’s Pantry. Her recipes are so wonderful because they are all gluten-free, grain-free, refined sugar-free, and very simple! I love simple recipes. I have a tendency to turn away from overly complicated ones, especially when there are more than something like ten ingredients on the list (I know, it’s my short-attention span-driven mind!). Plus, I’m always altering recipes, so I really just like a blueprint: give me the basic formula structure-wise, and I will free-form the rest! So that’s what I did with Elana’s Pantry’s recipe here–I took her basic recipe and added some spices, some molasses, exchanged oils, etc. I’m sure I will come up with new variations as I go along! And I was surprised that these did not need eggs–they held together just fine and tasted delicious. In fact, both of my children loved them–so I’m making them again tonight!

Snickerdoodle Molasses Cookies

• 2 cups almond flour

• 1/4 cup butter or coconut oil

• 1/4 cup blackstrap molasses

• 1/4 tsp liquid stevia or 1 tbsp honey or 2 tbsp zylitol (optional)

• 1 tsp vanilla extract

• 1 tsp cinnamon

• 1/4 tsp ginger

• 1/4 tsp sea salt

• 1/4 tsp baking soda

For dipping, in a bowl mix together:

• 1 tbsp cinnamon

• 1 tbsp zylitol or coconut palm sugar

Cream butter or coconut oil with molasses in a stand mixer or food processor.

Add in everything but the almond flour and mix well.

Add the almond flour until well-combined. The dough should come together in a ball. (If not, that’s ok, too!).

Take by the tablespoon and roll into balls.

Roll balls around in a bowl of dipping mixture (cinnamon + sugar/zylitol) until thoroughly coated.

Place balls on a baking sheet lined with a silicon mat or parchment paper, and press flat with your open palm or the bottom of a flat glass to desired thickness.

Bake at 350 degrees for 7-10 minutes, or until golden and done.

Let cool and enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gluten Free Fabulous
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 21:13:56

    Yum! These look fantastic! I love the idea of the molasses in a snickerdoodle – combining 2 cookies I love together.

    Reply

    • Heather McAuley
      Nov 06, 2013 @ 22:18:00

      Thank you Gluten Free Fabulous! They really are quite yummy… My nine year old loves them! I also have a totally sugar-free version (minus the molasses, which I do love) that I have yet to post…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

