Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies (grain free, sugar-free)

20140402-072504.jpg

I am leaving for a trip today to visit some of my family on the East coast. I will be away from my kids for a week–the longest I’ve ever been away from them! As the primary food-maker in my home, I scrambled to make snacks and foods to have on hand for them, and to help my husband out who will be doing a solo-parenting gig for a week. These were one of the snacks/treats I made–high in protein, low in sugar, and super-yummy for a quick, sweet snack!

There are many variations that can be made with this basic recipe–I found the base from other bloggers. I love that it’s totally grain-free (paleo) and sugar-free, super easy to make (throw everything in your stand mixer, just make sure to mash up the banana well!), and filling. Plus yummy, because even though I avoid sugary foods and don’t feed my children refined sugars, we still all love a sweet cookie now and then, especially peanut butter-chocolate! And if you avoid peanuts, just use a nut butter like almond or a seed butter like sunbutter. You will not miss the flour or sugar, I promise. (And if you want it sweeter, add a bit of honey or more stevia.). These come out fluffy and light, and very edible!

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup organic peanut butter (or other nut butter)

1 ripe banana, mashed

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 level tbsp cinnamon

1 tbs freshly ground flax seeds

1 tsp liquid stevia

1/2 cup cacao nibs, small chocolate chips or carob chips (I found these Lily’s Dark Chocolate Chips, sweetened with stevia and erythritol, which is thrilling for me–no sugar!)

Optional: 1/2 tsp ground ginger – for a little extra kick!

Directions:

Blend everything but the chocolate chips in a food processor or stand mixer; gently mix in the chocolate chips last to the smooth batter. Or alternately, drop some chips onto the top of the cookie before it’s baked. If you only have large chocolate chips, gently press one into the top of each unbaked cookie.

Drop by the tablespoonful onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone mat.

Place in an oven heated to 325 degrees for about 13 minutes, then take out and allow to cool.

Leave a Reply

